State Authorization

The US Department of Education requires that any institution offering distance education programs to students outside of its home state must acquire authorization from the states in which students reside. Regulations vary from state to state. 


NC-Sara Logo


The University of New Hampshire (UNH) has been approved by New Hampshire to participate in the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (NC-SARA).

NC-SARA is a voluntary, regional approach to state oversight of postsecondary distance education.  As an institutional member of NC-SARA, UNH may offer online programming to students in other SARA member states without seeking authorization in that state. 

As of April 2020, 49 states (all but California), the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands have joined SARA.

Important Information for California Residents

University of New Hampshire’s distance education/online programs are offered to residents of California. UNH's distance education programs are not subject to approval or exemption by the California Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education.

All of UNH Online programs are available to students in each state below unless restrictions apply due to licensure requirements. 

If the online program that you are considering is designed to lead to professional licensure or certification in your state, please refer to the Professional Licensure page

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia (D.C.)
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Puerto Rico
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • US Virgin Islands
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

Have questions?

Connect With Us